And $0 for pain and suffering

October 3, 2008 at 1:12 pm (Personal) (, )

A few weeks ago, I received a summons to appear in court. I had no idea why, or if I had been accused of something and couldn’t imagine what for. Would I receive 2 minutes for looking so good? Had I not paid a ticket? No idea. Looking over the summons later, I saw the name of the defendant, and then it all made sense. Said defendant was the fella who doored me last June.

Because I was carted away in an ambulance, I really didn’t get to see what transpired afterward. I saw the word “instruction” on the summons, and assumed that this would be some sort of legal learning exercise. I’ll probably be asked some questions, and that’ll be it. So, last night, leave from work and drive way over to east-end Montreal. And I mean way east end, into Pointe-aux-Trembles, to the municiple court there.

Once there, I take a seat and get to watch a bunch of folks contest their speeding/parking/whatever tickets. Few of them are acquitted, as their excuses run the gamut from unbelievable to completely hilarious.

At a certain point, the judge goes back to his chambers, and the prosecutor (or whatever his role is) calls me outside. Also there is the cop who took my statement last year, and the defendant as well. The defendant and the prosecutor go off to talk about something, and the cop and I rekindle old memories (hubba hubba). The prosecutor comes back, and he, the cop and I go into an office. Cop and prosecutor talk, prosecutor mentions that, “hell, the court fees will cost more than the ticket,”—this is where I realise that some funny shit is going on—and I explain my version of the events. The judge comes back, and this is when I learn why I’ve been summoned.

Why?

I’ve been summoned to testify because, after admitting that he opened the door to his truck while I was cycling by, which resulted in me being thrown into oncoming traffic and run over by an car, the defendant was given a ticket.

Which he was contesting.

I tell my version to the judge, the cop tells his version to the judge, the defendant tells his version to the judge. Pretty much all the same story. Of course, according to the defendant, he looked before opening his door, didn’t see anyone, and I magically appeared out of no where, so in his mind it was my fault but, besides that, same story.

The judge pretty much laughed at him, and bemoaned the fact that nothing more could be done besides him getting a ticket. So, judgment against him, he has to pay the ticket plus $50 for court fees.

Oh, and how much was the ticket for nearly killing me?

$30.

4 Comments

  1. mare said,

    Oh. My. God.

    I’m speechless.

  2. Martine said,

    I think you should sue him for waste of time.

    Unbelievable.

  3. vieuxbandit said,

    Don’t you feel vindicated?
    lol (sorry it’s only funny cause I’m not you!)

  4. Yvonne said,

    You’re kidding me…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

