Chocolate torte

February 15, 2007 at 4:04 pm (Food)

Because the milliner and I are moving into our first place next month, we’re trying to be responsible with our cash. Therefore, we decided to ease up on Valentine’s celebrations, except for perhaps a day here. However, as a wize old man told me, just because you don’t do anything for Valentine’s Day doesn’t mean you don’t do anything, I decided to make the following last night. (I, on the other hand, received a kick-ass card from the milliner telling me how great I was. I’m surprised it wasn’t a novella. I kid!)

Chocolate torte
Chocolate Torte

  • 200 g 70% chocolate (preferably fair trade)
  • 200 g salt-free butter
  • 250 g sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 tbsp flour

Preheat oven to 350.
Melt the chocolate and butter in a bain-marie over medium heat. Stir in the sugar, and mix until dissolved. Remove from heat, grab a glass of wine, go watch Jeopardy while waiting for the mixture to cool.
Come back into the kitchen after Jeopardy, and add eggs, one at a time, to the chocolate mixture, stirring well after each addition. Finish off the preparation by adding the flour, blending well.
Butter and flour an 8-inch cake pan. Personally, I used a quiche mould. Pour in the mixture, and cook for 25 minutes. When done, the cake sticks to the sides of the pan, but reduces in size as it cools, so it’s easy to remove from the pan.
Sprinkle with cocoa. Served with quenelle of sorbet.

4 Comments

  1. blork said,

    I love how you cut out such a dainty little piece for the photo. I’m sure you then put down the camera and then hoed into the torte like there’s no tomorrow.

  2. Michel said,

    If only. We made thin-crust pizza earlier (i added anchovies and bacon to my margheretta), so I really had no room left.

  3. the milliner said,

    mmmmmmmmmmmmm…. it`s sooooooooo good.

  4. lefty said,

    lol ‘hoed into the torte’. that’s a keeper.
    i think i might try and make that for saturday…i’m drooling.

Leave a Reply

