Mmmm, meat rolls

April 16, 2007 at 5:53 pm (Food)

Saltimbocca

The milliner and I are slowly getting back into our routines, but it’s been a while since I made something new. Aside from some pizza dough, I haven’t made bread in more than a month. So last night, I figured it was time to try brioche, though not Thomas Keller’s 20-ounces-of-butter recipe, because, really, I’ve been down that road already and the results included using a different hole in my belt. ’Nuff said. But that has nothing to do with today’s post.

Saltimbocca

A couple weeks ago, I saw some dude on Food Network (yay for satellite TV! It sucks when there’s snow, however.) making saltimbanco. It looked interesting, I couldn’t recall ever eating it, etc. Looked up the recipe on the Internets, but all the links kept pointing me to the Cirque du Soleil’s oldest touring show. So, I did a search for “saltimbanco recipe,” and the search results were all about the CdS’s vegetarian cook. No luck there.
Happily, a cranky coffee drinker realised that we needed to be looking for saltimbocca, not saltimbanco. Silly me. All the recipes called for veal, and I don’t really care for that. So, I looked at various recipes and came up with the following:

  • 4 pieces, 3 oz each, of skirt steak, pounded very thin
  • 8 slices provolone
  • 16 slices prosciutto
  • 20 leaves sage
  • 4 garlic cloves

Mince garlic into a paste. Season the meat with salt & pepper. Spread the garlic paste on one side of each piece of steak. Top with provolone, prosciutto, and sage leaves, divided among the four.
Rolled up the steaks, and refrigerate for a couple hours. (Personally, I took this time to make brioche. Oh, and to stare lasciviously at the new object of my unrequited lust.)
After a couple hours, took the meat out of the fridge, and fried on an oiled, hot pan, searing each side. Removed from the heat, let them sit, and deglazed the pan with white wine. Slice the meat, pour the deglaze (déglacé?) over the meat, and served with salad.
Quite tasty, actually. Crispy on the outside, rare on the inside, and all the flavours comingle really well, not one ingredient overpowering the other. Also, because I bought Canadian prosciutto and provolone, this was not an expensive meal. You gotta appreciate that.

6 Comments

  1. Patrick said,

    Ça a l’air é.coeu.rant. Tu la garde en note pour le prochain bar harbor celle-là? 😉

  2. Michel said,

    Ou peut-être lorsqu’on pend la cremaillière. 🙂

  3. Patrick said,

    Hehe

  4. terry said,

    Non mais on dirais des tripes.

  5. lefty said,

    laura = yummy.

  6. Michel said,

    I know!
    Summer frocks, French food, from the Maritimes. Where was she when I was at UNB?

Leave a Reply

