Google scares me

June 13, 2007 at 9:50 am (General)

I’ve noticed something rather disturbing lately when using Google services. Now, I’ve been using gmail since way back when, something like 2002 or so, and can’t imagine migrating to yet another free email service. But this?

google_scares_me2.jpg (Click for larger image.)

This is just creepy.
Notice how the address field is all in red? Notice how there’s a slash across the padlock, pretty much indicating that my email is open, no longer secure. Unfortunately, it doesn’t only occur with my email account, but with my Reader as well:

What’s going on here? Is someone pissed off that I have Crooks and Liars in my RSS feed? Is it because, like a sheep (mmmm, lamb. With rosemary. And garlic. I digress), I signed up to Facebook, pretty much giving away my liberties to its evil, right-wing conservative overlords? Or is it because I ran away, screaming and frustrated, from Blogger once Google took it over, rode it hard and put it away wet?
I’d hate to think that this is a sign of things to come.

1 Comment

  1. the milliner said,

    Hmmmmm….. That’s weird. It’s not yet happening to me. But I’m going to keep my eyes open. Did you try writing to Google to find out why it’s like that?

Leave a Reply

